Go Back   Club CDFreaks - Knowledge is Power > International Chat: Software related > Copy Movie > DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free


Commercial message

DVDFab / DVD Region+CSS Free Discuss DVDFab and DVD Region + CSS Free on the Club CD Freaks Forum. If you have pre-sale questions or problems using this software then drop in and post!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2008   #26 (permalink)
CD Freaks Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 525
Re: Is this Legal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOVEHEART View Post
the packet is sent out by dvdfab, if one sets the dvdfab program to blocked from internet access, you will see the alert when it tries to send the packet, i have followed up on it and it goes to xeen inc (i beleive) it has been awhile since i tracked it, but if you have zone alarm, try to block the internet access, and i swear you will see the alert!

Please recreate the alert and post a screen grab.
cybmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008   #27 (permalink)
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
SLOVEHEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE, OREGON
Posts: 54
Re: Is this Legal?

for those of you who do not believe that dvdfab accesses the internet, i just burned a disc and here is what was said under program in the alerts and logs, dvdfab tried to access the internet, destination ip 216.113.181.45:53, destination dns i20.ebayimg.com, and it also tried to access my local network to write the log file. but the fact is that dvdfab does send out some info, i do not know what.
it's true!!!!!!!!
SLOVEHEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008   #28 (permalink)
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
SLOVEHEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE, OREGON
Posts: 54
Re: Is this Legal?

i will, i have to get a screen shot program installed, so until then please refer to my other post as to the info that zone alarm (for vista) logged just recently.
SLOVEHEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008   #29 (permalink)
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
SLOVEHEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE, OREGON
Posts: 54
Re: Is this Legal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybmole View Post
Please recreate the alert and post a screen grab.
i will, i have to get a screen shot program installed, so until then please refer to my other post as to the info that zone alarm (for vista) logged just recently.
SLOVEHEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008   #30 (permalink)
New on Forum
 
FiveAngels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Re: Is this Legal?

I have Kapersky Internet Security Suite set to the highest levels and there are no packets sent out. Very strange indeed. A virus would do this.
__________________
Be careful what you wish for, you just might get it
Frankie FiveAngels
FiveAngels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008   #31 (permalink)
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 11
Re: Is this Legal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOVEHEART View Post
i will, i have to get a screen shot program installed, so until then please refer to my other post as to the info that zone alarm (for vista) logged just recently.
If the warning stays on the screen just press CTRL + PrtScr this will paste an image of your entire screen onto the clipboard. You can then paste it into a image program or a word document.
Dazed&Confused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008   #32 (permalink)
New on Forum
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 11
Re: Is this Legal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLOVEHEART View Post
for those of you who do not believe that dvdfab accesses the internet, i just burned a disc and here is what was said under program in the alerts and logs, dvdfab tried to access the internet, destination ip 216.113.181.45:53, destination dns i20.ebayimg.com, and it also tried to access my local network to write the log file. but the fact is that dvdfab does send out some info, i do not know what.
it's true!!!!!!!!
It's interesting that the statistics for the site ebayimg.com see: http://boardreader.com/domain/ebayimg.com (Not sure about the i20) seems to be mostly for uploading of images by e-Bay sellers or possibly for pop up adds. I wonder if it could be a pop up trying to load or if the DVD fab is try to load an advertisement.
It is also possible that it is doing an database inquiry for information on the disk being burned. Much like Nero or EAC does when ripping/burning a disk.
Just Some Thoughts...
Dazed&Confused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008   #33 (permalink)
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
SLOVEHEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE, OREGON
Posts: 54
Re: Is this Legal?

well i reburned a disk just to get the screenshots of zone alarm blocking the access to dvdfab's attempt to access the internet, i love this program, and i wonder why there is this internet access attempt(s), anyway, i am new to posting here (and on fourms in general) so i made some jpg files and i am attaching them to this message, i hope this works right, and i hope that the files are not too big, or some other problem, but i will try this using the advanced posting features. maybe someone can add some info to this, i was thinking of asking fentango about this also. to get the alerts one must set zone alarms program control to block (red x's) internet access, then the alerts appear as the program transitions from copy to burn.
hope this clears up any questions,
sloveheart
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DVDFAB1a.jpg (62.4 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg DVDFAB2a.jpg (51.9 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg DVDFAB3a.jpg (68.2 KB, 28 views)
SLOVEHEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008   #34 (permalink)
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
SLOVEHEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE, OREGON
Posts: 54
Re: Is this Legal?

an interesting note to this thing of dvdfab internet access is that the destination ip changed from the other time i burned a disk and looked at the log, it was also on a different computer, i got on a whois page to look up the owner and it said that it may be behind a proxy, i don't understand all of this stuff completely, but i do know that every burn there is an attempt to access the internet, and believe me, it is not to check for updates, i turned the feature off, and i never got any ads appearing when i didn't have zone alarm set to block dvdfab, i did it because i thought i safe to block any possible attempt to send out info and to my suprise i got an alert, and back then it was to xeen or xeex inc when i looked up the ip address. enough!!!
SLOVEHEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008   #35 (permalink)
CD Freaks Junior Member
 
SLOVEHEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE, OREGON
Posts: 54
Re: Is this Legal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazed&Confused View Post
If the warning stays on the screen just press CTRL + PrtScr this will paste an image of your entire screen onto the clipboard. You can then paste it into a image program or a word document.
thanks for the info on ctrl prnscrn, i did it and it is in a post under is this legal, hope you can make out the crummy grapics.
thanks
SLOVEHEART is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
archos, autogk, dvdfab, legal

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal and/or semi-legal download services Icy Mt. Music Download, Peer to Peer (P2P) & Legal Issues 13 07-12-2007 20:02
Is this legal? Kallen Music Download, Peer to Peer (P2P) & Legal Issues 8 29-01-2007 07:01
legal? bobdog Newbie Forum 3 23-01-2007 23:05
Is this legal???? ripit Music Download, Peer to Peer (P2P) & Legal Issues 9 24-10-2005 22:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0